# Change Default Survey Language

The Default Language for SurveyGizmo surveys is set to English, but you can change this at the survey or account level if you wish.

### What Does the Default Language Do?

In order to understand default language, you must understand how SurveyGizmo decides what language version of the survey to display when a respondent accesses your survey.

By default, the language of all survey share links is set to Auto.

Editing Web Link		
SETTINGS ADVANCED	<b></b>	O NEED HELP?
Quota	0/	
Duplicate Cookie Protection Link Open Date	Link Close Date	
YYYY-MM-DD HH:MM:SS	YYYY-MM-DD HH:MM:SS	
Format: YYYY-MM-DD HH:MM:SS (24	-hour time) EST	
Language	1	<b>`</b>
Auto	*	
		Never Mind Save Link

This means that SurveyGizmo will automatically detect the language preference the respondent has set for his or her browser. If a translated version of the survey matching that language is available, it will display the translated survey in that language.

Note: If there is no matching language translation available, SurveyGizmo will display the default survey language. See **Changing Your Default Language** 

below for instructions on customizing your default survey language.

Below is a table with more detail about how the default Auto language setting works. If you prefer not to use the Auto setting when sharing your translated survey check out our Share Options for Translated Surveys Tutorialto learn about your customization options.

Available Survey Translations: An Example	Respondent's Browser Language Preference	Link Language Setting	Language Displayed to Respondent
English (Default) Spanish French Italian	English	Auto	English
English (Default) Spanish French Italian	Spanish	Auto	Spanish
English (Default) Spanish French Italian	French	Auto	French
English (Default) Spanish French Italian	Italian	Auto	Italian
English (Default) Spanish French Italian	Dutch	Auto	English (Default)

## Changing Your Default Language

To change the default language at the account level (and all newly created surveys) go to **Account > Summary > Account Defaults**. Select the language for which you most commonly create surveys in the **Default Project Language** dropdown.

To change the default language on a survey-by-survey basis, within your survey go to **Tools > Text & Translations** and first add the language you wish to switch to. Then, on the home page of Text & Translations tool where your translated languages are listed, you can select the language you wish to set as default in the **Default Language** dropdown. This will override whatever language is set up in your account settings.

**Important:** Please note that when you work on the **Build** tab of your survey, any text that you add or edit is applied to your survey's **Default Language** as specified on your **Text & Translations** page.

Iello. 你好. Salut. Shalom. Ciào. Privet! Hola				
Default Language Spanish	\$			
	Export Fields for Translation			
Text Direction				
Left to Right	×			
Left to Right	×			
	Default Language Spanish Text Direction Left to Right			

#### Best Practice Tip

It is important to note when you change your default language, a translation for the former default language still exists (as seen in the image above).

If you change your default survey language after your survey is completely built out this shouldn't cause any trouble. However, if you continue to add questions and answer options after changing your default language, you will need to return to the Text & Translations tool and revisit the former default language translation to provide corresponding question titles and answer options; otherwise you could end up with blank question titles and answer options when this version of the survey displays. You can also choose to delete this translation if you wish.

### **Available Languages**

Abkhazian Afar Afrikaans Akan Albanian Amharic Arabic Aragonese Armenian Assamese Avaric Avestan Aymara Azerbaijani Bambara Bashkir Basque **Belarusian** Bengali Bihari **Bislama** Bosnian Breton Bulgarian Burmese

Catalan Chamorro Chechen Chichewa Chinese (Hong Kong) Chinese (PRC) Chinese (Singapore) Chinese (Taiwan) Chinese (simplified) **Church Slavic** Chuvash Cornish Corsican Cree Croatian Czech Danish Divehi Dutch Dzongkha English English (Australia) English (Canada) English (South Africa) English (UK) Esperanto Estonian Ewe Faroese Fijian Finnish French French (Belgium) French (France) French (Luxembourg) French (Monaco)

French (Switzerland) French-Canadian Fulah Galician Ganda Georgian German German (Austria) German (Switzerland) Greek Guarani Gujarati Haitian Hausa Hebrew Herero Hindi Hiri Motu Hungarian Icelandic Ido Igbo Indonesian Interlingua Interlingue Inuktitut Inupiaq Irish Italian Italian (Switzerland) Japanese Javanese Kalaallisut Kannada Kanuri Kashmiri Kazakh

Khmer Kikuyu Kinyarwanda Kirghiz Kirundi Komi Kongo Korean Kurdish Kwanyama Lao Latin Latvian Limburgish Lingala Lithuanian Luba-Katanga Luxembourgish Macedonian Malagasy Malay Malayalam Maltese Manx Maori Marathi Marshallese Mongolian Nauru Navajo Ndonga Nepali North Ndebele Northern Sami Norwegian Norwegian Bokmal Norwegian Nynorsk Occitan Ojibwa Oriya Oromo Ossetian Pali Panjabi Pashto Persian Polish Portuguese Portuguese (Brazil) Quechua Raeto-Romance Romanian Russian Samoan Sango Sanskrit Sardinian Scottish Gaelic Serbian Shona Sichuan Yi Sindhi Sinhala Slovak Slovenian Somali South Ndebele Southern Sotho Spanish Spanish (Mexico) Spanish (United States) Sundanese

Swahili Swati Swedish Tagalog Tahitian Tajik Tamil Tatar Telugu Thai Tibetan Tigrinya Tonga Tsonga Tswana Turkish Turkmen Twi Uighur Ukrainian Urdu Uzbek Venda Vietnamese Volapuk Walloon Welsh Western Frisian Wolof Xhosa Yiddish Yoruba Zhuang Zulu

**Related Articles**